Uncategorized

Welcome to the Esquin Wine Blog!

South America 192
Greetings, fellow wine lovers! This is Jameson and I am taking the reins of all things blog-related for Esquin Wine Merchants. Before I get started, let me give you a little background about myself.  I moved here from Chicago (where I dabbled in the food and wine industries) almost six years ago to pursue my desire to work in the wine business full-time. And I haven’t looked back since. Here’s what you can expect to find here:

  • Passion and enthusiasm about wine
  • Lots of food and wine talk, with an emphasis on pairings
  • A love of all esoteric and unusual wines from Picpoul to the Puget Sound
  • Loads about Washington wine
  • Unwavering desire to see more regular sparkling wine and Champagne consumption
  • Interviews with local, national, and international wine personalities
  • Dispatches from vineyards and wineries near and (fingers crossed) far
  • Notes about restaurants from the humble to the fancy
  • Beer. Yes, beer. Occasionally. As any winemaker will tell you, it takes a lot of beer to make a good wine.

Here’s what you won’t find here:

  • Superior, snobby, elitist attitudes about wine
  • The word “seamless” and all other worthless wine descriptors
  • Lackadaisical, sporadic updates by robots

Please let me know what you would like to see and read about; I appreciate all praise, kudos, flattery, constructive criticism, and glancing blows. Cheers, everybody!

Follow Esquin on Twitter

Standard

6 thoughts on “Welcome to the Esquin Wine Blog!

  1. Gordon Shaffer says:

    I like the new news letter layout……………..but the white on brown pages are difficult to read and eat huge amounts of ink if a print is desired. Can you please revert to a black on white page design?

    Thank you

  2. Kari says:

    It’s very exciting to see the blog go live! I’m looking forward to reading future articles, especially those about Washington wines.

    I’d love to see an article for resources and ideas on how to get a job working in the WA wine industry. I have researched this, but not found a lot written about it online or many job postings. But the fact that wine in Washington State is growing by leaps and bounds (especially in the last few years) proves that the jobs are out there. My dream is to work in wine marketing, so I have a vested interest in the topic. Thanks!

    • Kari,

      I’m excited, too! My advice about getting into the wine industry would be to volunteer to work at a winery and be willing to do anything they ask. Also attend free tastings at places like Esquin and get to know the people pouring the wines. I’m going to ask on Twitter to see if anyone has suggestions about additional resources and suggestions for employment in the WA wine industry. Good luck!

      Jameson

Leave a Reply

